Stuart Oliver wins inaugural truck racing championship

32Greater Noida, March 23 (IANS) Ten-time British champion Stuart Oliver overcame a bad start to win the one-off round of India’s first ever truck racing championship at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) here Sunday.

Mathew Summerfield and David Jenkins finished second and third, respectively, in the one-make championship organised by Tata Motors. Overall, 12 British drivers competed for six teams.

Oliver, who started the 15-lap race on pole position, lost his lead on lap three to two-time British champion Summerfield before regaining it on lap nine.

The 50-year-old pulled away thereafter crossing the chequered flag 4.674 seconds ahead of his nearest rival. Only 2.5 km of the 5.14 km track was used for the race.

Oliver had also won the five-lap sprint race Sunday morning.

“It was an eventful race and I loved it to be honest. The truck got better and better to drive as the race progressed and the tyres held well too. It would be great to come back here next year,” said Oliver, who was crowned champion in front of a sizeable crowd.

Tata Motors have already said they will increase the speed limit of the Prima road trucks for the future editions. The drivers felt the need for faster machines with the 370 bhp powered behemoths only having a top speed of 110 kmph — 50 kmph less than the norm in Europe.

Indian Herald on Facebook


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone